Uncategorized

My Birthday Week (A Personal Post)

So I promised you a “personal” post on Monday– well, obviously this is Tuesday, and my only excuse is that I’ve had a lot of school and a very busy week. Another reason why my post is late is because I told you guys that I would post about my swim meet– and I (for various reason) still don’t have pictures from it….

In any case, here is my first attempt at a “personal” post, and frankly, I’m pretty sure that I am not going to do any more of these. I feel a bit egocentric and narcissistic, and I can hardly believe that you will find these posts interesting… So, while there is a slight possibility that I will do one more “personal” post (once I have the swim meet pictures,) I am going to search around for a new topic for Monday’s post (and, as always, I would love your suggestions!)

Anyways… on to my past week.

It happened to be my birthday.

IMG_1547

On Friday– the 13th, and yes, I was born on a Friday the 13th, too. I’m not superstitious and don’t believe it has any effect on me, though I am a bit eccentric and do, indeed, have unusually pointed canine teeth.

I turned 17, and– before you ask—No, I don’t feel any different 😉

My wonderful grandparents came into, and we had a wonderful shopping trip where I bought absolutely nothing! (See the eccentric comment above– I really didn’t need any more clothes, and I exercised a surprising amount of self-control in the book store!)

IMG_1562
The books from top left to bottom right: The Hobbit, The Hobbit’s box, The Complete Collection of Sherlock Holmes, Heartless, Till We Have Faces

 

This week, I finally got around to ordering those beautiful books which I had been wanted and had asked your opinion on. I ended up getting the Sherlock Holmes collection like I had planned and Heartless by Anne Elisabeth Stengl (as suggested by Katie Grace.) Thank you all for the awesome book recommendations, and hopefully, I will get a chance to read them all this summer!

Beyond those two books, my little sister got me an absolutely stunning version of The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien, and my next door neighbor got me Till We Have Faces by C. S. Lewis. I am super excited to have all of these books, and this was probably the only reason why I was able to exercise a small bit of self-control in the bookstore with my grandmother….

IMG_1552

The only other notable event of my week was that I got to wrestle with/sit on/tickle my darling little sister, after we severely abused our old play set with my wooden claymores and attack each other with LARPing swords.

 

Nifla

Oh! And I found my new favorite word: nifla. It is Biblical Hebrew, and it just showed up in my vocab list this week in school. It is a verb which means “It was difficult to do/understand; it was wonderful.” Isn’t that a beautiful idea? Because something is challenge to understand or hard to do, it is wonderful! I happen to love a good challenge or a difficult idea to mull over, so this is my new favorite word, and I am determined to have it added to the English dictionary (Maybe, you guys can help me with that :p ) Perhaps, I will make it known in a politically themed science fiction novel which I have been playing with in my head– that is if I ever finish my fantasy series and actually get started on that vague novel idea…

Well, this has been quite the ramble, and as I mentioned at the beginning, I feel very silly and egotistical for writing it. Hopefully, I haven’t bored you too badly, but if I have, then be comforted that this is probably the last time I will make a post like this 😉

Again, if you have any better suggestions for what I should post on Monday, please let me know in the comments! I would really appreciate it!

In any case, you can expect my first writing prompt Thursday and then a post about Fantasy clichés, Saturday.

God bless,

Gabrielle

6 thoughts on “My Birthday Week (A Personal Post)”

  1. Happy Birthday!!
    You could do posts on good, not often used words. Or on different fighting styles/techniques using dual fighting knives, maces, axes, a staff, or different types of swords. Just a thought!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

