Personal Post, Pieces of My Writing, Questions for my Readers, Updates on my Novels

Child of the Curse: Beta Readers

*Please note that this post is really only for my followers or people whom I have actually chatted with and know, but I couldn’t figure out how to work the private post thing, so it is public post.*

So, I have finished my edits on Child of the Curse with the exception of some copy edits from a friend, and currently, I am seeking out several agents and publishers. Only, I’ve run into a problem, and I was wondering if  you guys (my friends and followers) would help me out.

You see, I have three pressing questions which I am struggling to answer myself, so I need a few people to read my complete novel and help me out. Please note that if I have not (at least) chatting with you online at some point, I won’t be sending my novel to you. I am sorry.

The questions are actually simple and shouldn’t take much time. Of course, if you want to give me other feedback, you are welcome to, but I only need these three questions answered:

  1. Who do you think is the target audience? (I need no more than a two year age range and what gender the targeted– not all, but my main readers– readers would be. Maybe even what type of people they are if you are willing.)
  2. Did this novel remind you of any others, and what were they? (Truly, it would be helpful if the answer was “yes” and you listed a title or two, but if your answer is honestly no, then I would love a small sentence about why not.)
  3. What did you like the most about it (plot, a certain scene, a specific character, a message, or something else)?

Please feel free to be brief on the questions, but I could really use your answers to help me out in my fiction proposal.

If you are interested and have the time in the next few weeks (I know how busy life can be!), please let me know by e-mailing me, and I will send you the manuscript. Here is my e-mail (you can also find it on the contact me page): writefortheking@gmail.com. I know I am asking a lot, but I would like to think that you will enjoy my novel, and I tried to make the questions as easy as possible to answer.

You can read a sample chapter here and see if you are interested.

The only objectionable content in my novel is the violence, but the worst of it actually takes place in the first chapter (which you can read using the link above.) For Christians, some characters do use “magic,” but their gifts clearly come from and can only come from the God character (with the exception of one character who gain the power through the equivalent of demonic possession also the fallen angel characters have a certain amount of magical power which was given to them before they fell.) As I present this gift of “magic,” I tried to make it an allegory for the real spiritual gifts Christians receive from the Holy Spirit or for supernatural power like the angels’ possess.

Please let me know if you are interested, and I hope you have a wonderful day!

Gabrielle

1 thought on “Child of the Curse: Beta Readers”

  1. And I just want to apologize to all of my followers for the multiple posts today. I try to post no more than three times a week (and I’ve already exceeded that– oh dear), so I am very sorry for spamming your e-mail. You are probably sick of hearing from me :p The only reason why I did this is because I am going to camp next week (so I don’t want to have to worry about e-mails then) and the beta reading and Camp Nanowrimo is time sensitive. I am very sorry for being a bother this week!
    God bless,
    Gabrielle

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

