Christian Post, Devotionals

Devotional: Are We Blind?

“He has blinded their eyes and He hardened their heart, so that they would not see with their eyes and perceive with their heart…” John 12:40a NASB

The blind: those hypocrites and non-Christians. We all know some. They are our family and friends who can’t see their problem and need for salvation, or they are those people who debate and refuse to see the truth—no matter what facts are presented. We all know the blind, but as Christians, we know that we are not blind since we have received the truth from the Holy Spirit.

Yet, perhaps, we are not as clear sighted as we think. After all, the blind don’t know that they lack sight unless someone tells them.

Now I am not questions that we are saved. The Bible is clear that if we accept Christ as our Master and Savior, we are His and have the Holy Spirit in us. However, we also know that we can suppress the Holy Spirit, and maybe there are sins that we are unaware of because we haven’t been following God.

“Do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, by whom you were sealed for the day of redemption.” Ephesians 4:30 NASB

If you have ever met a selfish brat, one of the first things you notice is that they don’t think that they are self-centered. They just deserve something. It would be an injustice if they did not get their way. They are right, and everyone else is wrong. The idea that they are the ones in the wrong doesn’t even cross their minds.

I know this because I am sure that I am a selfish brat sometimes, and it has taken me way too long to realize it. If you have ever read The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, the little beast, Eustace, never saw his own sin of selfishness, either. At one point, he even remarks:

“It (the storm) would be bad enough even if one was with decent people instead of fiends in human form. Caspian and Edmund are simply brutal to me. The night we lost our mast… though I was not at all well, they forced me to come on deck and work like a slave.”

I am ashamed to think of the familiarity Eustace’s words. How many times have my parents asked me to help with something completely reasonable, and I sulked and complained in response? Eustace was transformed into a dragon before he could see his true nature. Fortunately, that isn’t how it works for us.

Instead, God clearly outlines how we can be healed of our blindness and see the things in us which do not conform to Christ’s image and need to be changed.

  1. We can pray to God to open our eyes

“But if any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all generously and without reproach, and it will be given to him.” James 1:5 NASB

  1. We can read the Bible. It is called a double edged sword for a reason: it destroys our false ideas of ourselves.

“For the word of God is living and active and sharper than any two-edged sword… and able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart.” Hebrew 4:12 NASB

“So Jesus was saying to those Jews who had believed Him, ‘If you continue in My word, then you are truly disciples of Mine; and you will know the truth, and the truth will make you free.’” John 8:31-32 NASB (Please note that this was said to the believing Jews—not non-Christians! We still need truth to make us free. It is possible to be a Christian and still be in bondage to sin.)

Maybe there is some sin in our lives that we are blind to. As for me, I plan on making David’s prayer my own: “Search me, O God, and know my heart; try me and know my anxious thoughts; and see if there be any hurtful way in me, and lead me in the everlasting way.” (Psalm 139:23-24 NASB).

There is one thing that we do know: Jesus came to make the blind see.

“The Lord opens the eyes of the blind…’” Psalm 146:8a NASB

 

Note from the Author: July 9th, 2015

I am very sorry that my posts haven’t been posted early in the morning like normal– also that this post is not part of my World Building series. Camp Nanowrimo has really been hard for me this year, and I am feeling completely unmotivated, so I posted this devotional that I had written a while back. Hopefully, by Monday, I will have found my motivation and you guys will have a World Building Post to read! God bless, Gabrielle

1 thought on “Devotional: Are We Blind?”

Leave a Reply

