Writing Prompts

Sci-Fi Science Prompts From Friend’s Blog

Recently, one of my good friends started his own blog about theoretical science and his ideas. For many years, my friend, Zane, has been refining his ideas and talking about them with a few established scientists. As an INTJ, I love to think about his ideas, but as a writer, I absolutely love to hear his ideas because of the inspiration they give me. Since, all of his ideas would be perfect for a science fiction novel, and I thought I would share his blog with my fellow writers. After all, not all of us are scientifically inclined, but many of us still want to write a sci-fi novel some day!

Zane’s Brain: Inside the Mind of a Theorist

Science Fiction Inspiration

I interviewed Zane, so you might get to know him a little bit better before you check out his new blog. I hope you enjoy the interview, and if you have any questions for Zane, you can comment below or ask them on his blog.

What made you decide to start your blog?

Zane: I have always been very interested in science, and I have come up with various ideas.  However, I have found it very hard to find people that both can and will talk to me about my ideas.  Also, I think some of my ideas would fit very well with science fiction, but I doubt I would be able to get anyone I know to write a book around one of them.  So this website’s purpose is to find people who will talk to me and help me develop my ideas, find other people like me in the scientific arena, possibly get my ideas into some novels or short stories, and make everyone else think 🙂

 

Your ideas are really interesting, and the ramifications of them are extremely fascination. Do you have a favorite idea, and can you briefly explain it?

Zane: My favorite idea would definitely be my Ultramatter idea, though my gravity shield idea is gaining ground.  The basic premise is this: the average atom is over 99.9999999999996% empty space, so what would happen if we got rid of all of that empty space, and created a substance that is 0% empty space?  It turns out that this my actually be possible, and could be, among other things, a virtually unlimited energy source.

Here is a link to Zane’s Ultramatter idea. My personal favorite idea of his has to do with the identity of matter, explaining how there can be an infinitive number of particles that make up everything (ex: atoms are made of quirks) and why light acts as both a wave and a particle. But Zane hasn’t posted that idea on his blog yet, so unfortunately, I can’t link to it. UPDATE: Zane just posted this idea, so here is a link if you want to check it out.

Many of your ideas lend themselves to Science Fiction. Would writers be able to use your ideas in their novels?

Zane: Yes.  In fact, I would be delighted if my ideas made it into novels.  I have three rules for use in a novel:

1) Let me work with you a bit to make sure the ideas are used accurately and in case your novel sparks an idea for a new way to use my ideas (I will try to keep my comments to a minimum)

2) Acknowledge me for the idea in some way (it can be minimal such as an acknowledgement in the back)

3) I get a free copy of the finished work 🙂

 So do you read much Science Fiction? If so, what would be your favorite novel and why?

Zane: I grew up on 19th century historical fiction (GA Henty, RM Ballantyne), but I have recently gotten a chance to read some science fiction, and I love it.  I think my record so far is 3 books in one week.  As to a favorite novel, I have read so many in the same series recently that it is hard to remember which elements belong to which books.  I think I will choose Bred for War by Michael A Stackpole.  If it is the one I am thinking of, it follows, along with political intrigue and major semi-advanced military operations, the experiences of a man who retreats under the pseudonym of The Dancing Joker to single-handedly overthrow a newly established planetary command using custom tailored tactics, stealth, and a whole lot of explosives.  And then, to wrap it all up, (SPOILERS) at the end of the book, you find out that he is actually the assassin from one of the other books that has been outsmarting the governments of various star empires for quite some time, and overthrew this government just because it would look good on his résumé.

 

 If you had to compare yourself to a fictional character, who do you think you are most like and why?

 Zane: Sherlock Holmes.  Without a doubt.  At least that’s the most well known one.  For anyone who is familiar with MBTI, we’re both INTJs, and for anyone who’s not, well, let’s just say that I am his less intelligent twin.

You are a strong Christian and profoundly interested in logic, truth, and science. In today’s secular world, many people think that is impossible. How do you reconcile the two?

Zane: Yes, a lot of people think that the Bible and science are incompatible, but actually, the opposite is the case. Looking back at our great scientists, many were Christians.  A few off of the top of my head are Isaac Newton, Johannes Kepler, Galileo Galilei, and Copernicus. God was Newton’s reason for studying science, and he spent more time studying the Bible, especially the prophecies in Daniel, than he did studying science in his later days.  The Bible predicted several scientific discoveries thousands of years ago.  For example, consider Psalm 104:2. “Who coverest thyself with light as with a garment: who stretchest out the heavens like a curtain” (emphasis mine). We now know that space is stretching.  Also, Job 26:7 says “He stretches out the north over empty space; He hangs the earth on nothing.” We now know that earth floats in space. The last example I’ll quote is Hebrews 11:3b, where the Bible predicts atoms: “the things which are seen were not made of things which are visible.”  It also describes the water cycle, mentions that the sun is a sphere and not flat, predicts that the Sun is not stationary, but orbits in the galaxy, predicts that the eighth day of life is the best day for circumcision, provides the perfect organic pest control solution, and the list goes on and on.  I see no discrepancy between science and the Bible.

Thanks for reading this post, and I hope that this has inspired your inner science fiction writer. Have you guys ever written any science fiction? Where did you get your ideas from?

God bless,

Gabrielle

 

7 thoughts on “Sci-Fi Science Prompts From Friend’s Blog”

  1. Great post Gabrielle, and great interview (and ideas) Zane!
    I have never written any science fiction, but I have always wanted to at some point.
    It would cool to write a sifi novel based on real scientifically feasible ideas, rather than made up ones. 🙂

    Like

    1. I have never written sci-fi either, Celia– well, I did try when I was in fifth grade, but I never got past the title and creating flying lava cars. I have always found that the best sci-fi are based on science that could really happen. That was one of my biggest problems with C. S. Lewis’ space trilogy; the science was absolutely ridiculous. Lewis was a great writer, but he never should have tried sci-fi 😛

      Like

  2. I am zanes cousin, I really agree with his ideas, I have researched some myself, so don’t thing that his ideas are bad cause they aren’t ! My name is Elijah and I too share your faith

    Like

Leave a Reply

