Awards, Pieces of My Writing, Writing Prompts, Writing Tags

The Two Tags that I Promised

You know those two tags that I promised to do way too long ago? Actually, you probably don’t remember them anymore, but I have finally gotten to them! Yay. We are not going to talk about how I was tagged in September (I am a terrible blogger). Also I am sorry that this post is so late (see previous note about what type of blogger I am).

The first tag is from Writefury and the tag is called “The Freestyle Writing Challenge.” Since I am a rebel and did not like the rules, I am modifying them.

  1. Open a blank document
  2. Set a stop watch or mobile phone timer to 5 or 10 minutes
  3. Read your topic at the foot of this post. DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH YOUR TIMER!
  4. Once you start writing, do not stop until the alarm sounds
  5. Please check your grammar and spelling (this was one of my modifications). No one wants to read your first draft, but don’t change anything beyond technical errors.
  6. At the end of your post, write how many words you wrote
  7. Copy and paste the entire passage on your blog post with a new topic for your nominees

This was my prompt: You are going out for coffee with one of your villains, and a favorite fictional character. How does it go?

I read the prompt before I set my timer (see aforementioned note about rebellion), so that should probably be noted. And I chose to write for ten minutes (because who can write anything in five? If you can, you have my respect.) I picked my second favorite villain, Anarr, since revealing my favorite villain involves major spoilers for my novels. I have written about her before, and you can check it out here, if you so choose. Since I really am terrible at writing any type of fan-fiction, I choose another one of my own characters (Arkeh) instead of one of my all time favorite fictional characters.

Well, here it goes. And it appears that I took 15 minutes instead. Oh, well. I am a slow writer.

The coffee house was one of the smaller shops at Flame Lake, and Arkeh prefer it that way. Though she enjoyed the sharp smell of coffee and the even sharper conversations that took place in the coffee houses, Arkeh had never been comfortable among large crowds and noisy rooms. Too much noise disturbed the productivity of silence.

For the past hour, Arkeh had been sitting quietly at a table in the far corner. Occasionally jotting down notes in a small book or sharpening several small knives, she had been content to think while she waited.

The door to the coffee house blew open, and a tall shadow, boarded by wings cast a shadow on the room. Looking up, Arkeh nodded to the Livyahak woman with red flowing hair, but the Livyahak did not acknowledge her. Anarr merely strode into the room, flaunting the vemon injectors on the tips of her wings and hissing at the other customers.

The room emptied in seconds.

“Fear. Another useless emotion.” Anarr smirked as she carefully folded her venomous wings behind her back and sat down across the table from me.

Passively watching the shop keeper flee, Arkeh nodded. She was wary of the Livyahak assassin, but she knew where her sword was and how fast her fingers could fly to the grip; there was no need for her to break her gaze with the grey eyed Livyahak. “Fear is often irrational, but it can serve as a warning system.”

“A true warrior does not need to rely on mere emotions for warning. Simply being aware and alert is a more reliable and effective method.” Anarr rolled her grey eyes, revealing the truth; Livyahak were cursed, unable to feel emotions as proclaimed by their colorless irises.

“True.” Arkeh shrugged; she had not been expecting to enjoy her conversation with one of Nakavar’s minions. “But what would you know about fear? You have never felt it.”

“Imbecile, Nakavar is not as cruel as you imagine. I asked once, and he gave me your so-called gift of emotions for a mere day. The joy is momentary and the failure lasting. Your emotions to nothing to aid you elf, and you are a fool to cling to them.”

“Perhaps, but I would not hide behind a curse to protect me. I am stronger than that.”

“No. You are not strong enough to abandon that which destroys you. I know of your losses at the Golden Fort and how they haunt you. Kill. Killed for a king of no consequence. And poor Arkeh left all alone.”

And here is my prompt for Hannah Heath, Aimee (Hi! I just found your blog, and you seem like a really interesting person, so I am nominating you; I hope you don’t mind), Jazzy-Belle-4-Grace, and Kendra Hearn.

Three characters are stuck out out at sea in the middle of a storm (are they are on a ship, on flying dragons, or under the ocean in a safe city? It is your choice). They can be your characters or not; they can be heroes for villains. But one character’s name or nickname must start with the letter “R”. Another character must have green eyes, and the last character main weapon must be a bow and arrows. What happens?

P. S. I noticed the title of your blog, Aimee, so I deliberately picked the Grand R as the first letter of one of the characters. 😛 Of course, you don’t have to pick that character, but I thought I would leave the option open to you!

_______________________________________________________________

And the next tag is from Writing Abby, and it is the Leibster “Award” coming around again.

Here are the Rules:

  • ACKNOWLEDGE THE BLOGGER WHO NOMINATED YOU
  • GIVE 11 RANDOM FACTS ABOUT YOURSELF
  • ANSWER 11 QUESTIONS FROM THE BLOGGER WHO NOMINATED YOU
  • NOMINATE 11 OTHER BLOGGERS
  • GIVE THOSE BLOGGERS 11 QUESTIONS TO ANSWER

Here are 11 Facts about me:

  1. The only TV shows I watch are Agents and Shield and BBC’s Sherlock
  2. The above fact is not completely true: I also enjoy watching many shows on Fox News
  3. I am working out a detailed plan for world domination, but I am still looking for someone to help lead the Scots. Any offers?
  4. I am skeptical about and wary of the new Star Wars, but I am still excited to see it (I am just worried that it will be turned into another stupid Young Adult movie because that is what the trailer looks like!)
  5. As you can tell, I am not very impressed with the modern Young Adult genre, though there are a few YA books that are pretty good
  6. Even though I want to be an English/Literature major, I am taking AP Chemistry and enjoyed it very much
  7. My favorite composers are Chopin and Schubert
  8. The parallels between my friends, hobbies, and passions are disturbingly similar to Victor Frankenstein’s; only I won’t be trying to create life and usurp God (thankfully!)
  9. My favorite candies are Jolly Ranchers and Milky Ways
  10. I am slightly claustrophobic
  11. I am legally blind without my glasses, and technically, they should no longer be able to correct my vision, but I can still see 20/20 with glasses (yay!)

And now Abby’s eleven questions:

  1. What’s your favorite flower? I have never thought about this, but I love blue columbines and crab apple flowers. Random fact, crab apple flower petals are edible and much tastier than the actual fruit (I was a strange, hungry child, okay? I also had angels watching over me because I ate way to many of the random plants in my yard….)
  2. What do you like to do in your spare time (besides writing)? I swim competitively year round, and that takes up most of my spare time. During this time of the year, I am actually swimming for two teams: my club team and the local high school team.
  3. What would be your dream house? Sometime small and easy to take care of. Probably only one story tall. But it would be on as much property as I could find/afford. Preferably, I would like to have it in Montana near some mountains.
  4. How do you react to sad movies? I rarely cry during sad movies, and a lot of time I laugh if it not properly done. However, if I find a movie to be sad, I typically hide my face from other people’s views– just in case. One movie that I find to be sad but enjoy very much is Master and Commander.
  5. What is your favorite piece of technology? My computer. I don’t like a ton of technology, but I prefer to type my stories, and it makes editing much easier.
  6. If you could travel to any point in time, where would you go and why? Ancient Greece, during the time of Plato. I love philosophy and ancient history, and though a lot of the Greek philosopher’s ideas were wrong, I would still love to talk to them.
  7. What would be your “all my dreams came true” moment? If I worked together with other people to reform the American government and brought American culture to focus on Christ. You think I am kidding; I’m not. One step in this might be to see one of my Christian allegorical novels become very popular.
  8. If you could only read one book for the rest of your life, what would it be and why? Ugh. We aren’t counting the Bible here. I think it would be a tie between Mere Christianity (because the ideas could entertain me for years and are very beneficial), Les Miserables (because it is so complex, long, morally focused, and has interesting characters), or Simarillion (because it is so complicated and detailed that I don’t think I could get bored).
  9. What is one thing people don’t know about you? I can come off very aggressive in real life, and most people hate arguing with me. On the internet and in writing, I tend to be more generous.
  10. What was the most devastating character death you ever experienced? I’ll be honest. I am a bit hardhearted, so many character death’s don’t phase me. But Jean Valjean’s death was devastating to me (yes, even more devastating than my favorite character, Enjolras’, death.) This is probably because he died almost alone and abandoned by his daughter and her good-for-nothing husband (sorry, Marius, I loved you until the last few chapters). The other deaths that really affected me were Boromir (LOTR) and Trip (Agents of Shield).
  11. When do you think you’ll stop writing? When the world see the Truth, and I have nothing more to describe.

And my nominees for this are Savannah, S. M. Metzler, and Rachelizabeth.

And your questions are:

  1. If you could visit anywhere in the world, where would you go?
  2. Who are your favorite fictional characters?
  3. What are your favorite colors?
  4. If you could only read one genre of fiction for the rest of your life, what genre would you read?
  5. If you could have lunch with any three people through history (dead or alive), who would you want to have lunch with?
  6. What inspired you to first start blogging?
  7. Coffee or Tea?
  8. What is one of your favorite quotes?
  9. What is your favorite season?
  10. Where do you find most of your inspiration to write? (Books, specific ideas, music, nature, history, or something else?)
  11. What was your favorite Christmas present from your childhood?

As always, just because I tag you, you have no obligation to answer! I understand why you might not to do these tags/awards.

God bless,

Gabrielle

 

9 thoughts on “The Two Tags that I Promised”

  1. I loved these! Fascinating bit of a story for the first tag. Fact #4 is me, although I’ve actually enjoyed the trailers. My extreme excitement and terrible fear are warring within me. #6 is cool, too—I’ve always planned on an artsy major/career in either writing or some kind of graphic design, but I always really enjoy science. Oh, and #3: First of all, it sounds like a very INTJ-ish thing. In fact, I have several other INTJ friends already planning the same thing. xP And second, I totally volunteer. It’d be rather perfect.

    Also, I love the new header. ‘Tis lovely. =)

    Like

    1. Thanks! I am trying not to be excited about the new Star Wars (but I think I am failing… oh well.) I wish I was artistically talented (like graphic design or painting), but unfortunately, creative writing is about as far as I go artistically. Do you have a favorite area of science? Oh! You’d be willing to lead Scotland for my world domination scheme? Do you have any connections there? 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I completely agree about Star Wars, and although I like graphic design, I’m not talented artistically in anything else. I’ve always wished I could draw really well, but that is clearly not what God saw fit to give me. xP Biology would be my favorite, although I did enjoy chemistry as well. I’m taking Physics this year and not quite enjoying it. xD What about you?
        I do indeed. My grandfather was born and raised there, and he’s instilled his patriotism in everyone in my family. And my parents named me after Aberdeen in Scotland to keep my heritage in my name. I’ve always been quite proud of my Scottish ancestry. =D

        Like

    2. One caveat on the leading Scotland in revolt. You have to be willing to be demoted to advisor upon merging with the main movement, because we can’t have too many rulers in the end.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. So cool! What a fun idea. Your villain sounds awesome. I’ll try to write my response post in the next two weeks. I have so far managed not to look at the prompt, but the temptation is strong. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

