Personal Post

March: Taking a Break

I know that I have been gone from the blog for a while. I had a crazy month in February with championship swim meets, a college visit, scholarship competitions, way too many essays, and some family visiting.

Coming out of February, I am exhausted, completely unfocused, and dealing with a little bit of depression. I actually have a significant amount of free time this month (more than I have had since the summer), but I have wasted it so far. So I need to focus on what really matters: my relationship with God (reading my Bible and getting caught back up on AWANA), school and applying for scholarships, and my novels.

For the month of March, I am going to take a break from my blog. I think it is really going to take some of the stress off of me, and hopefully, I will be able to refocus and be back for the month of April (or perhaps even before the month ends.) Now, for those of you who have submitted an Open Pen Critique, I am going to try and post those as soon as possible. So don’t worry. I will still be responding to comments but much slower than normal (which is already pretty slow.)

Thanks for understanding, and I am looking forward to seeing all of you at the end of the month!

God bless,

Gabrielle

13 thoughts on “March: Taking a Break”

  1. Sounds like a good choice, Gabrielle. School can get stressful. Hope you’re able to relax and enjoy your month! Sending prayers and chocolate. I’ve found both of those helpful when dealing with depression. 🙂

    Like

  2. Definitely take time for yourself and do whatever you need to do to recharge. You’ll be in my prayers, and I look forward to your return. 🙂

    PS. I have a theory that those of us with depression are those of considerable spiritual strength; the devil knows that the only thing strong enough to hinder or harm us, at times, is ourselves, and so he turns our own minds and hearts against us.
    Fight hard, but know you do not fight alone. Psalms 46:1 might help.
    Take care.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for the encouragement and the Bible verse! Psalm 46 is one of my favorite chapters (Psalm 18 is also really great.) I sure hope that your theory is true– I sure like to be seen a threat to the devil.

      Like

      1. I think it’s safe to say that your blog is, in a way, a pretty big act of defieance against the Devil. Everything for God is against Him, and he resents anyone of faith; he resents anybody and everybody on Earth, but especially those who willing chose to follow God.
        That makes you a sizable threat to him. It also makes you stronger than he is, for light is more powerful and always conquers the darkness. Those that are for you are far more, in number and strength, than they that be against you.
        You’re a threat because of the good that you do, and the people that you reach and influence for good. You’re only beginning that influence, but I can already tell you that you’ve inspired me and others through your blog alone, let alone those who’ve come to know you in person.
        There is light and hope ahead. God’s light is constant and unchanging, and help and answers always come to those who seek Him who has every answer and can help us the most. I think you know that, but i sometimes need a reminder when things get hard and my focus gets fixed on the darkness ofe moment. 🙂

        Like

  3. Hey, have a good trip! By the way, I realized you play Howrse, and that’s how I found you. I love your account and your writing is really good! My user is – red234
    Thank you, and keep continuting on your journey with Christ!

    Like

Leave a Reply

