Months in Review, Personal Post, Updates on my Novels

March: In Review

Before I start this post, I just want to thank you guys for being patient as I took March off from blogging and most other social media. I really appreciated the break!

I am now back to blogging, and hopefully will be posting on my normal schedule (Monday, Thursday, and Saturday.) Thanks for waiting for me. 🙂

March in Review on Write for the King Blog

My Life this Month

Since I never did a monthly post for February, I am including that month, too, in this section. February was a big month for me!

  • On February 13th, I turned 18. Yay! I will not turn this blog political, but I am very passionate about politics, so turning 18 in time for the elections is very exciting for me! (Voting is my third step towards world domination.)
  • I had a crazy swimming month in February, but I ended up missing the high school state cut by 0.33 seconds because I caught Strep Throat the week before my big meet. That was disappointing, but while I love swimming, it isn’t the most important thing in my life, and I was just happy to be swimming.
  • Also in February, I got to visit a college and participate in a scholarship weekend there. It went really well, and the college was really great. However, I am still waiting on making my college decision for a couple of reasons.
  • While during my college visit, I got to meet one of my best online friends. We made LARPing swords and had a lot of fun!
  • During March, I took a break from most social media, including this blog and even blog related e-mails. I think it was good, but I learned something very important while on my break: I need to write in this blog and in novels. Writing is a part of me, and an important way that God speaks to me. So no more writing breaks for me!
  • March mostly consisted of school work and scholarship applications. It was pretty boring.
  • During March, my parents made the decision to take me out of swimming. I’d been swimming competitively year round for the past five years, and this was a huge decision for my parents to make. Do I resent it? A little bit– I really love swimming, but there is nothing I can do about it, so I need to make the best of this extra time. My swim coach was extremely supporting, and when I started crying, he said, as a fellow Tolkien nerd, “I will not say do not weep, for not all tears are evil.” He was the best coach 🙂 It was very bitter-sweet.

MissionViejoGroupPhoto
I will really miss these guys. I am the one with the braid over my shoulder, and my coach is the one is the back on the left.

Books I Read

Pathetic? Yes. I only read one book last month, The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrun by J.R.R. Tolkien, and it was partially for school (I had a major assignment where I wrote an essay on how Lewis and Tolkien reflect traditional mythology differently in their writings.) I enjoyed Tolkien’s original poem telling the Norse myth of Sigurd, the Volsung. The poetry was very well written, but it would be hard to follow if you did not know the original myth. Christopher Tolkien’s notes in the back provided enough background information for those who are not familiar with the myth, but would be bit tedious to read the notes first. Also, it should be noted, as with most mythology, this story contains some mature elements (like incest and mothers killing their six-year-old sons.) However, I still enjoyed reading the poem and notes; I just could not recommend it to everyone.

My Writing

I originally planned to do a lot of writing last month, but I ended up doing a little bit of editing and started some rewriting. After hearing some beta reader’s comments, I decided to try rewriting the first four or so chapters in my first novel, Out of the Curse. Unfortunately, I became a bit unmotivated with that half way through the month, so I am still working on those new chapters.

On My Blog

  • Nothing!

As I said at the beginning of the month, I decided to take a break. I really needed it, and now I am glad to be back. Unfortunately, I did not keep my word and publish the Open Pen Critiques that were submitted. I am very sorry that I never did that, and I hope to get to those quickly, though I cannot promise anything.

Awesome Posts that I found

So while I did not do a ton of blog reading this month, I did find a few great posts.

Plans for Next Month

I plan on posting regularly this month, though I may miss a post or two next week because of finals. I have some writing tip posts prepped about mentor tropes in fiction and copy editing, so you can look out for those. In my personally writing, I actually plan on continuing with the first draft of my second novel rather than continuing the rewrites of my first. Mainly, this is because I feel inspired about the main character in that novel, and I want to act while I am inspired. Inspiration doesn’t come often enough!

So I hope you all had a great month, and I would love to hear what I missed during my break! How has you guys been doing? Thanks for waiting for me to return.

God bless,

Gabrielle

 

10 thoughts on “March: In Review”

  1. So glad you’re back!!! Sounds like the break was good for you! I know how heartbreaking it must be to stop swimming competitively. At the beginning of this past school year, my parents and I decided I needed to stop my horseback riding lessons because of all the schoolwork I had to do this year. I miss it a lot, but I definitely appreciate the extra time and lessened stress.

    Like

  2. Welcome back! I’ve missed your posts and “seeing” you around. Happy late birthday! I too am turning 18 this year and have been looking forward to voting for ages. Watch out, world Mwahahaha. ;D And thank you for the mention! I’m glad you enjoyed that post. =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

