Writing Tips

INTJ Characters: Writing Tips

A couple months ago, I posted a series on my blog where I wrote about the personality types of my five main characters: ISTJ, ESFP, ESTP, and INFP. My fifth character’s personality type is INTJ. At that time, I thought that I had already covered that in my post last year on writing INTJ females. I was mistaken. Last week, I read that post again and realized the post was absolutely useless for helping with INTJ characters (male or female) if the writer was not already familiar with the personality type.

So here is an overview of the INTJ personality type to help writers with these characters.

_______________________________________________________________

Disclaimer: I am an INTJ. So I am speaking partially from personal experience and partially from my research  in this post. I am most familiar with this personality type, not only because of my personal experience, but also because I have researched INTJs for the longest. However, as an INTJ, I have an inherent bias. I tried to be objective in this post and not include aspects of myself that are not sue to my type, but of course, it will not be perfect. So please feel free to correct me in the comments. Moreover, this post is not meant to help INTJs understand themselves better but is an amateur analysis meant to help writers create characters.

_______________________________________________________________

A Writer's Guide to INTJ Characters

The Functions of the INTJ

  1. Introverted Intuition (Ni): INTJs are very focused people, constantly thinking about the future and how to achieve a desired outcome, and they typically have a narrow list of interests. Almost all INTJs have a grand life goal, even from a young age. Ni focuses on the most likely outcomes rather than a multitude of less likely possibilities–what will happen rather than what might happen. INTJs like to see circumstances with the biggest possible view, thinking about all possible ramifications and philosophical implications of actions and ideas. Though INTJs by no means take into account all factors (INTJs often get into trouble when they don’t take something into account), INTJs comes as close as is humanly and naturally possible. Also, INTJs are creative individuals, but their creativity tends to be vision oriented, and their sense of humor is often focused on implications of actions or extenuating circumstances, such as dark or morbid humor, irony, and sarcasm. When combined with Te and Fi, Ni often gives INTJs a clear idea of what matters in their plans and goals and what does not. This tends to make INTJs very efficient and effective and not care about the opinions of most people. However, INTJs can be manipulative and frequently disregard the feelings and emotions of others (Te) when thinking only of an overall goal. INTJs also have little to no regard for tradition or conventional techniques (NiFi). At best, INTJs are conscientious individuals who are not swayed by popular opinion; at worst, INTJs are manipulative and execute their own plans regardless of the feelings or well being of the people around them.
  2. Extroverted Thinking (Te): INTJs process everything through logic and do not hesitate to take action once they are sure of the outcome. INTJs are known for processing their feelings through their heads first. They analyze what makes sense and is most tactically beneficial and then begin working on it. When combined with Ni, Te causes INTJs’ plans to tend to be very well thought out, and INTJs quickly see ramifications and implications of ideas. Tending to be blunt, INTJs typically care more about the truth and find it through debate than people they might hurt emotionally. INTJs are critical of everything, especially their own work, and are often perfectionists. They are most critical of themselves and are very aware of their own nature (Fi) and how their interactions affect the world. In addition, INTJs tend to value systems, organization, and efficiency.
  3. Introverted Feeling (Fi): INTJs struggle with social interactions and understanding other people’s motivations and emotions.  However, many INTJs look at patterns (Ni) of human behavior and use that information to help their personal interactions and analysis of others. Since many INTJs subconsciously expect everyone else to be logical and perfectionists (Te), they can struggle when people don’t see the way they do and make the same decisions. However, unlike the stereotypes, INTJs experience intense emotions; they hide them from other people and are very uncomfortable with outward displays of emotions. INTJs tend to process their emotions logically (Te) and seek to define their emotions and understand them, and INTJs often need to be alone or write out their thoughts to think through their emotions. In general, INTJs have a very realistic and honest understanding of themselves. As an introverted feeler, INTJs tend to have very strong morals based on personal convictions, and they focus on what something means to them personally and not what it means to other people. They do not shy away from uncomfortable truths and have no problem standing up for what they believe in. INTJs don’t love broadly but intensely and specifically. Though INTJs tend to ignore or be annoyed by compliments and take criticism very well, if one of the few people an INTJ truly trusts compliments or criticizes them, they will take it to heart. INTJs hate being controlled or feeling stifled, and they value solitude.
  4. Extroverted Sensing (Se): Since this is the inferior function, it is underdeveloped in many INTJs. INTJs tend not to have good memories (generally they take impressions or an overall meaning from an experience [Ni]). They also are not spontaneous, random people and dislike improvising, though developed types can be very adept at it. Yet some INTJs may appear spontaneous to someone who does not realize their overall plan, or an INTJ might study and mimic other people’s “randomness” if the INTJ believes that being “random” would further their interaction with other people. Even if an INTJ neglects this function, they still have a need for physical hobbies such as sports and enjoy being outside. The difference with INTJs is that, while they need this physical activity, they often don’t realize it, being focused on their task at hand (and need friends to help them “get out more”). More mature INTJs often find extremely creative, unusual ways to satisfy their Se (such as fencing or buying a fountain pen to write quotes in a journal.) In addition, INTJs are easily over stimulated and dislike socializing simply for the sake of socializing.

*Personality types are not as simple as picking between two letters four times. The mixture of letters actually represents four cognitive functions as listed above. The dominant function is listed first and drives the type, while the inferior function is listed last and is often unused in immature types.

How to Manifest this Personality Type in Fictional Characters

Goals: The most important thing to realize about INTJs is that they are highly goal oriented. Even the youngest INTJs will have small goals, life-time goals, and legacy goals.  Their goals tend to be a mixture of practical, ambitious, and idealistic.

Motivations: One of the most common motivations for INTJs is a desire to find truth and apply it in their life and in the rest of the world. INTJs are often strongly motivated by a sense of justice, individuality, and effectiveness and a desire to implement them. INTJs with a well-developed Fi will also be motivated by their personal morality.

Interaction with Other Characters: Though INTJs are capable leaders and will take leadership roles if no one else does (or the current leader is leading too ineffectively), INTJs tend to work behind the scenes to achieve their plans. They dislike group projects or working with other people and will rebel if something does not fit with their plan, sense of logic or what is effective, or their personal morality. They typically see themselves as outsiders but crave true connection with one or two other people. INTJs tend not to see the need for human connection after their couple true friends. INTJs do not like socializing, and unless they are manipulating a situation, they will state their opinions blatantly and in a confrontational manner, though there is no anger or ill will behind it– just a desire for truth.

Young/Immature Characters: Immature INTJs tend to be very arrogant, manipulative, and selfish. They tend not to have any type of filter on their mouth and be very withdrawn from other people. Some very immature INTJs might even come to the conclusion that they don’t need people in their life at all and scorn any type of emotion or moral system. Immature INTJs may also not be very aware of their surroundings and feel very disconnected from the physical world.

Mature Characters: More developed INTJs tend to appreciate other people more and have a strong sense of personal morality. They learn to show kindness and be friendly (even though INTJs tend not to value harmony) in the community around them without violating their personal principles. Mature INTJs also appreciate physical activity, spending time outdoor, and experience rather than simply theorizing and achieving life (though mature INTJs still do plenty of that.)

Other Characters Development: I found this excellent post on how INTJs tend to react to trauma. This is particularly useful for sadistic writers. Another post which might be useful for writers is Understanding Sympathetic INTJs who have a well-developed Fi and are less stereotypically ignorant of emotions and truly care about others.

Examples of INTJ Characters: Hamlet (Hamlet), Sherlock (BBC’s Sherlock– please note that I believe that Sir Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes is not an INTJ), Ender Wiggins (Ender’s Game), Mr. Darcy (Pride and Prejudice), Atticus Finch (To Kill a Mockingbird), the 4th and 12th Doctor (Doctor Who), and Bruce Wayne/Batman (Batman)

If you’d like to look into INTJs more, I would suggest checking out this website. The website is written by an INTJ, and I believe he is very objective and fair in how he analyzes the type. Most of the links including in this post are from this website.

Or if you would like to read about how Myers Briggs Personality Typing can help writers, you can check out on post by clicking on this link.

So have you ever written an INTJ character? What do you think about this personality type in fiction? My INTJ character, Arkeh, is the main character of the current novel that I am writing, but I have found female INTJs to be much rare than the males (who tend to be really popular.) What do you think about that or the type in general?

God bless,

Gabrielle

 

15 thoughts on “INTJ Characters: Writing Tips”

  1. As someone who’s an INTJ, you definitely did the personality type justice. Perhaps this is just me, but I think that because of INTJs desire for perfection and organization, we tend to dislike ineffeciency and get easily frustrated when other people don’t do things as well as we think they should.

    Anyway, this was really interesting to read! I’m definitely going to save it for future reference.

    Like

    1. Did I forget to mention that we are very efficient? I really meant to put that in there. Thanks for mentioning that. I agree that INTJs tend to be very efficient people, but not always perfectionists. INTJs tend to know when to stop and when something is good enough and more work would be inefficient because they see the big picture (Ni).
      Glad this was helpful!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post (I’ve been following your blog for a while, but I don’t think I’ve commented. Pardon my essay). I too, am a female INTJ, and this is definitely accurate–especially your point about deliberately imitating other people’s spontaneity. Trying to be ‘fun’ is a struggle, hehe, especially when one has two SP siblings. And don’t get me started on social gatherings where I have no specific objective and people expect me to talk…small talk with ‘acquaintances’ is the best way to torture an INTJ character in an everyday setting, I’m sure. ;p How am I supposed to talk about the weather when I haven’t been outside in six months, or compliment your new hat when I didn’t even notice it was there? Inferior Se is such a bother.
    I have actually found a female INTJ character who is not evil! The name of the book is *A Natural History of Dragons* by Marie Brennan, and it reads like a Jane Austen novel…with dragons. I think the character is probably based on the astronomer Mary Somerville, so that’s neat as well.
    Anyway, I love your blog and your MBTI posts are amazing (and thank you for actually paying attention to the functions! things get so vague without them).

    Like

    1. Hey, Catherine! Thanks for following my blog.
      Oh, I don’t have a problem having fun. It is just that my idea of fun is not most people’s. 😉
      Thanks for sharing that book. Is it a romance? You mentioned it read like a Jane Austen, and I was wondering if you meant the style or the genre/plot. I found a really cool, female INTJ (who is also not evil) the other day. Her name is Moraine from the Wheel of Time Series. However, that series has some sexual content starting in the 5th book, so I stopped reading.
      Thank you! I find the functions to be so helpful– especially in developing characters from immature to mature.

      Like

  3. I am not very familiar with these character types but INTJ sounds strikingly like one of the characters in my current story. How do you think a somewhat immature INTJ would respond to the realization that his goals have hurt other people? For instance, would reclusive depression, or active repentance be more likely?

    Like

    1. A immature INTJ would probably not care that his goals hurt other people. He would justify it be saying that it was for a great goal or by simply considering the people irrelevant. Any immature INTJ would be unlike to be very remorseful at all about hurting other people. (This is one of many reasons why INTJs are often steriotyped an villains.)
      Now a mature INTJ (with a developed Fi) would react differently. The difficulty is that the INTJ would most likely have known from the start that his goals would hurt other people and have justified it in some way or another. The change would probably come when the INTJ realized that his justification was flawed and wrong (as a result of developing Fi– valuing a personal morality system.) I can’t speak for all INTJs, but I think the most likely response from a repentant INTJ would be to take action to fix the problem, though I suppose that depression could also result (I am just having a hard time visualizing that.)
      I know very little about your character, but based on your question, I wonder if you are really writing an INTJ or some other type.

      Like

  4. Thank you very much for the feedback! Like I said, I am not very familiar with these personality types, so you could very well be right that he is not INTJ, and, just so you know, he is not the villain. I tend to work my characters out by intuition and in his case it has been confusing because although he is extremely goal driven and is willing to sacrifice other people’s feelings to his goal, he is also a manipulator, and I do not actually know anyone who is a manipulator and doesn’t really care what people think. Your post made it clear to me how those two character traits made sense together. Active repentance was where I was leaning for when he discovers the flaw in his goals, but I wasn’t sure if it was realistic, I was afraid I might be idealizing him (he is, after all, my favorite character), so I am glad you think it probable for a mature INTJ. As to whether he is mature or immature, I think, if he is INTJ, he is just becoming mature when he begins to feel remorse, but his emotional responses still need a lot of retraining. Thanks again.~Jane

    Like

    1. Well, of course I would spend an hour writing a response before scrolling down and reading this. I tried to post the response, but my stupid internet filter didn’t let me, and I lost over 400 words of it, and now your response makes most of what I said irrelevant, though it was still very good content that I lost. Oh, well. It passed the time (though I really have much better things I could be doing). https://mbtifiction.com/2015/06/17/procrastination-in-intjs/

      Anyway, your character sounds like he might be an INFJ with some unusual development in his Fe. Usually you see this in villains, but it is by no means exclusive of well meaning characters. A past trauma, especially in childhood, could easily result in this development of Fe. INTP is also a possibility.

      Like

  5. Thank you so much for posting this! I’m an INFJ, so the female INTJ in my book has been a very interesting character to create! This post will be really helpful in making sure that I’m playing into who she is as a person!

    Like

Leave a Reply

