writing inspiration

10 Motivational Quotes to Inspiring Writing

Today, I am sharing some of my favorite quotes that inspire me to write. Some of them are about writing; some are simply beautiful writing. Some are just odd and make me want to write a specific scene. A few have Christian elements since Christ is a major motivation for my writing.

10 Motivational Quotes for Your Writing

“Fairy tales are more than true; not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.”

~ G. K. Chesterton

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things that I am afraid of.”

~ Joss Whedon

“And what, you ask, does writing teach us? First and foremost, it reminds us that we are alive and that it is gift and a privilege, not a right. We must earn life once it has been awarded us. Life asks for rewards back because it has favored us with animation. So while our art cannot, as we wish it could, save us from wars, privation, envy, greed, old age, or death, it can revitalize us amidst it all.”

~ Ray Bradbury (The October Country)

“[T]here is, in all of us, a hunger for words that satisfy– not just words that do the job of conveying requests or instructions or information, but words that give a pleasure akin to the pleasures of music…. [Language is] a dance– words at play– words not just meaning or reporting or chronicling or marching in syntactic formation, but performing themselves, sounding, echoeing, evoking ripples of association and feeling, moving in curious sidelong figures rather than left to right in orderly lines. Freed of their quotidian functionality, words flit and land in odd places, or hover in the general vicinity of some thought that provides at best only a temporary resting place.”

~ Marlilyn Chandler McEntyre (Caring for Words in a Culture of Lies)

“The complaint was the answer. To have heard myself making it was to be answered. Lightly men talk of saying what they mean. Often when he was teaching me to write in Greek the Fox would say, ‘Child, to say the very thing you really mean, the whole of it, nothing more or less or other than what you really mean; that’s the whole art and joy of words.” A glib saying. When the time comes to you at which you will be forced at last to utter the speech which has lain at the center of your soul for years, which you have, all that time, idiot-like, been saying over and over, you’ll not talk about the joy of words. I saw well why the gods do not speak to us openly nor let us answer. Till that word can be dug out of us, why should they hear the babble we think we mean? How can they meet us face to face till we have faces?”

~ Clive Staples Lewis (Till We Have Faces)

“Today’s problem is insignificance and meaninglessness. We need to know God’s sacrifice for us and how much He values us.”

~ Dr. Steven Hake (personal phone call, speaking on why Christian fiction is important)*

*Quote is paraphrased as I could only write so fast 😉

“Nothing ever ends poetically. It ends and we turn it into poetry. All that blood was never once beautiful. It was just red.”

~ Kait Rokowski

“[Jo] did not think herself a genius by any means, but when the writing fit came on, she gave herself up to it with entire abandon, and led a blissful life, unconscious of want, care, or bad weather, while she sat safe and happy in an imaginary world, full of friends almost as real and dear to her as any in the flesh. Sleep forsook her eyes, meals stood untasted, day and night were all too short to enjoy the happiness which blessed her only at such times, and made these hours worth living, even if they bore no other fruit. The divine afflatus usually lasted a week or two, and then she emerged from her “vortex,” hungry, sleepy, cross, or despondent.”

~ Lousia May Alcott (Little Women)

“I do not sit down at my desk to put into verse something that is already clear in my mind. If it were clear in my mind, I should have no incentive or need to write about it. We do not write in order to be understood; we write in order to understand.”

~ C. S. Lewis

“I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious.”

~ Albert Einstein*

*My Google search seemed to support Einstein as the author of this quote, but of course, the internet is very unreliable with giving credit where credit is due. So I am not totally sure about the author of this quote.

I hope you enjoy these quotes and have a great week writing. What are your favorite quotes that inspire you to write? I’d love to hear them!

3 thoughts on “10 Motivational Quotes to Inspiring Writing”

Leave a Reply

