Uncategorized

Camp NaNoWriMo: July 2016

I have talk frequently about NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month, on this blog, and I have even posted about it in the past. Well, it is time for Camp NaNoWriMo again, and here is my annual (or perhaps bi-annual) post telling you about my novel, plan, and goals and inviting you to join me!

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is an online community that attempts to write a novel in a single month—or at least, write a significant part of a novel in a month. I am of the group that has never been able to write a whole novel in a month. The typical goal is to write 50,000 words in a month, but participants can have goals ranging from 10,000 to 200,000 words. To write 50,000 words in a month, participants try to write 1,667 words a day. National Novel Writing Month started with just the month of November, but with the growing demand, there are now four National Novel Writing Months: November, February, April, and July. Participants make a profile for themselves and their novels, receive encouraging e-mails during the month, and participate in a fantastic online community. During April and July (Camp NaNoWriMo), participants are sorted into groups of 12 or less (“cabins”) with an online chat and group word goal to make. Because of the “cabins” (and flexibility of the summer), July’s Camp NaNoWriMo is my favorite event.

On both the normal NaNoWriMo site and Camp NaNoWriMo site, my username is dryadwriter (because dragonwriter was sadly taken.) I first tried NaNoWriMo in 2013 (I think), but I gave up after a few days. I tried again twice more before I finally completed the Young Writer’s NaNoWriMo with 35,000 words in November 2014, finishing my first novel. Last year, I participated in the July Camp with my second novel and made the standard goal of 50,000 words for the first time. Unfortunately, I have not touched my second novel since then. I meant to rectify that next month, but my plans had a plot twist yesterday.

I had my plot all figured out, outlined to the scene; I was ready to continue with my second novel when my plans suddenly changed. I got some sudden inspiration for a character in my first novel and an idea to completely change his arc. Then I realized that I should probably finish editing that novel and start querying agents again before I focus on my second novel. So, my plans have changed. I will be changing a character completely, adding a new character arc, and finishing another round of editing of the whole novel.

OutoftheCurseCoverMutated dragon soldiers are not supposed to feel sympathy.

Mar Zaehav fights to become an elite assassin—only she is a teen soldier fighting on the wrong side. As a Livyahak, an elf mutated with dragon wings, Mar was born to fight for Nakavar who seeks to take the throne from the elven King of Evcadeh. Nakavar cursed the Livyahaks, preventing them from feeling sympathy or seeing color. But Mar escaped Nakavar’s curse, and for this, she must die. Escape and freedom are her only hope, or is her life worth something more?

I will be putting a word count tracker both on my novel’s page and the side bar of my blog, so you can see my progress through the month! My novel is 80,000 words, so as I go through editing it, you can see where I am.

If you want to join me, I have started a private cabin, and we currently have three remaining spots. Though all of us are writing fantasy or science fiction and many of us are Christian, the defining features of our cabin is that we will all be active writers, seeking to finish our stories and help each other. In addition to normal NaNoWriMo activities, our cabin will be pairing up in “writing partners” that encourage and check in on each other daily to make sure word counts are met. Also, we plan on creating and sending online “care packages” to each other with musical playlists, character pictures, personalized maps, etc. I’d love to have you join us!

If you are planning on doing Camp NaNoWriMo next month, please comment below with your username and project! My username is dryadwriter. Maybe we can do some word wars, or if you would like, I’d love to have you join my cabin.

Even if you are not doing NaNoWriMo, I hope your month goes well, and you get plenty of writing done.

God bless,

Gabrielle

4 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo: July 2016”

  1. It’s awesome your on NaNowrimo! so am I! I’m Isabelle R. Taylor on NaNoWrimo and Camp NaNoWrimo, and I’m esther-e on NaNoWrimo’s YWP I love nanowrimo!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m doing Camp NaNoWriMo this year (my first time doing anything NaNo-related, so we’ll see how it goes :))! My username is Savannah Grace, and I’m revising my Snow White retelling, Killing Snow.

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on buildingapoem and commented:
    I didn’t realize that the novel I have been working on is actually fitting in to one of the four annual National Novel Writing Months (NaNoWriMo) per year (in the old days (2008?) it was only November). Our friend Gabrielle Massman explains how you can use July’s Camp NaNoWriMo to use your summer time to achieve some writing goals.

    Like

Leave a Reply

