Writing Tips

Resource Links for Bloggers

A couple months ago, someone asked me to post about blogging, and now that I am mentoring a new blogger (which is great, by the way– I would highly recommend this), I thought that I would post a list of my favorite blogging resources. There are a ton of articles about blogging circling around the internet, and I am sure you have heard most of the tips: post consistently, focus on serving your readers, etc. So I wanted to share some links and tools that I have found to be extremely helpful. Then I realized that I only had three tools that I really use, so I asked my fellow bloggers. Here is our collaboration of some helpful resources for blogging!

*Please note that all of these resources are free 🙂

Resource Links for Bloggers: Write for the King Blog

  • Regarding Pictures:

Having beautifully edited pictures to go with each blog post really helps to draw in readers and to keep readers interested. Also having pictures allow your posts to be easily shared on Pinterest (which is where most of my traffic comes from). So here are a few resources to help with finding good, legal pictures and editing them:

Gimp: Gimp is a free photo editing program. It takes a little while to learn, but it is much more professional than Paint. If you cannot afford Photoshop, then download this program. I have been using Gimp for a couple years now, and I would highly recommend it! Katherine also suggested Pixlr, but I am not as familiar with this program, so I can really only mention that I have also heard it is good.

PixabayFlickr, and Unsplash (Recommended by RachelElizabethKatherine, and Samuel): It is important for bloggers not to infringe on any copyright laws and most photos out on the internet are copyrighted (even if you attribute a photo as “found on Pinterest,” you are still in violation of copyright as Pinterest is not the artist and many artists do not allow edits on their work.) What you need to find is public domain pictures to edit for your blog. I would suggest Pixabay because all the pictures there are Public Domain and the site is easiest to use. However, Flickr has a larger collection of picture, but be careful: not all the pictures there are Public Domain so make sure to check. Unsplash has a smaller selection of photos (all public domain), but they are much more– beautiful? hip? professional looking? Anyways, you can check out these websites for yourself 🙂

  • Editing Posts:

Hemmingway Editor: Now, I have a couple problems with Hemmingway Editor (such as their definition of a hard-to-read sentence and their abhorrence of adverbs), but this is a great tool for putting your posts into and checking sentence length variation, passive voice, and just seeing your writing in a different format (this can really help you find typos.) Yep. I should really use this resource more often.

Grammarly: Bethany and Samuel both recommend this add on to help with grammar and spelling. If you have read any of my blog posts, you probably know that I need to get this. Thanks, guys!

  • Finding (and Organizing) Inspiration:

Pocket: Samuel recommended this for saving ideas to use for later. I am not entirely sure how this works, but it seems cool and handy, and it looks like it works on multiple devices.

  • Other:

Rainymood: Faith and I both love this website. It isn’t super useful, but it does play thunderstorms while you work! I have even listened to it while listening to music. Highly recommend 🙂

– Buffer: (Recommended by Samuel) Buffer helps bloggers do social media marketing. I think you can schedule tweets which can be really helpful to take advantage of the most popular hours on social media.

I hope these resources are helpful for your blog; I know that I use many of these for almost every post. And if you have any resources that you use frequently, comment below! I am not opposed to adding to this list 🙂

God bless,

Gabrielle

8 thoughts on “Resource Links for Bloggers”

    1. It is my pleasure! When I first started blogging, I would check out the blogs of everyone that followed me. Then I got busy. I was just glad that I clicked on yours! Your articles look wonderful (though I have not had time to read them yet.)

      Like

  1. Wow, how lucky for your friend to have a mentor! Where do you get one of those? I’ve been checking out old huts on Tattooine but so far I haven’t found anything.

    (And I beg to differ; Rainy Mood is very useful. It can be the difference between writing and staring blankly at the screen for me.) 🙂

    Like

    1. Yeah, seriously. I’d love to find one, myself 😛 Have you heard of the Rebelution or Do Hard Things before? They recently started a Young Writers Workshop which I joined. I am not sure if you can join the program right now, but I know that you can join this open Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/TheYoungWritersWorkshop/ So you might try that 🙂 I have always struggled with finding a personal writing mentor, so I kind of decided to give up and become one instead.

      Touche. I can’t argue that.

      Like

  2. Great list! I’ve used a lot of these resources before, especially GIMP. Though it can be tricky to use, I’ve found it’s easier to learn than Photoshop and pretty much does everything I need it to do. I use it to make the title images for my blog posts too, and I definitely recommend it. I’ll be checking out some of these other resources as well (especially Pocket)!

    Thanks for sharing these!

    Like

Leave a Reply

